Sluiten
X

• Filter
  • Tijd
  • Tonen
Clear All
nieuwe berichten

• Photographs of Maastricht

Dit is een gedeeltelijke reconstructie uit Google cache van een uitgebreidere discussie. De foto's ontbreken, maar worden op een later moment misschien nog toegevoegd.
    -------------------------------------

Riemke schrijft:

Hallo allemaal,

I hope you don’t mind me writing in English, but my Dutch is not good enough to sufficiently explain my problem (I do understand almost everything though, so please feel free to reply in Dutch).

Well, I am a student at Maastricht University and am currently working to archive a couple of photographs of Maastricht from about 1900-1930 I guess. This includes trying to date them as best as I can, which I do according to hints found in the pictures.

In the course of my research I came across this forum and noticed that many of you are pretty good concerning the (architectural) history of Maastricht. That is why I figured that maybe you could give me a hand with some of the photos, or rather with some questions. Unfortunately I do not have digital copies of the images, but I will do my best to describe them if needed.

• There are a number of photos that show the westwork of Onze Lieve Vrouwe Basiliek in a scaffold – which I assume to be due to the construction work by Cuypers. Does anyone of you know when the work on the westwork was done, when the scaffold was there?
      There is another picture (ca 1911) of the eastern-side of the church already finished, but you can see that the westwork is in scaffolds. And in the thread about the Onze Lieve Vrouwe Basiliek there is an image of the not-yet renovated westwork from 1910 - would you say it is thus correct to assume that the scaffold was there from about 1911-1917?